Stephen: Day 37

3 Mar

Last night I went over to my friend Dani’s place for dinner. Jason and Dani organized a small little dinner party which I cooked dinner for. I wasn’t really sure what to make at first, and I am honestly a little out of practice when it comes to cooking full meals.

I decided to go with a mushroom theme. I started out with a wild mushroom bisque. Porcini’s, Chantrelles, Shitaake, Trumpets, Baby Bellas, and a few others I can’t seem to remember. It actually turned out really well. I didn’t really get in great pictures because the light was so low, but I’ll post the recipe below and you can see it for yourself.

After the soup we moved on to mushroom risotto and herb crusted rack of lamb. It wasn’t bad. Then Dani made benofi cupcakes that were awesome.

good company and good food!!! I need them to function…

click on photo to go to blog

6 cups chopped assorted mushrooms (more or less if you want)

1oz dried porcini mushrooms

1 medium red onion chopped

2 cloves garlic chopped

1 liter vegetable or chicken broth

1-2 cups white wine (optional)

2 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp Olive Oil

1/4 cup mascorpone cheese

1 meyer lemon

small handful chopped thyme

small handful chopped flat leaf parsley

salt and pepper to taste

Place porcini mushrooms in a bowl, just cover with boiling water and let sit until water turns a deep brown color and mushrooms are fully hydrated. Strain porcini’s to remove grit and set liquid aside for later.

Add olive oil to a pan on high heat. Add mushrooms (including porcini’s) and let saute for 2-3 minutes. Add onion and garlic and the zest from 1/4 to 1/2 of the meyer lemon. Let saute for 2-3 minutes (at this time remove about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of cooked mushrooms and set aside for garnish). Add butter and liquid from porcini’s and let simmer until almost all the liquid has evaporated from pan (10-15 minutes). Season with salt and pepper to taste (I added this nice smoked salt that gave the soup a very slight smokey flavor that complimented the earthly flavor of the mushrooms- just use a small amount, a little smoke can go a long way).

Add white wine (optional) and broth to the pan. Add thyme and parsely and let simmer for 20 minutes. At this time I take a hand mixer (the same one I use to make shakes- it’s like a hand-held food processor), and I blend the soup until there is no chunks. I like my bisque to be smooth, but if you want more texture, you can place half the soup in a blender, then pour back into pot to have more mushroom chunks. About 5-10 minutes before the soup is done, add the mascorpone cheese and stir until incorporated. The key to soup is to keep tasting and adding flavors until it’s taste is balanced like you like it.

The mushrooms you set aside early, heat in a small saute pan until the mushrooms start to brown. Add a little chopped parsley and use to top bisque. I sprinkle a little olive oil on top, and squirt a little juice from the meyer lemon on top. I also served it with a little parmesan crustini…

*** soup is great and easy to make the night before and rewarm for any occasion the next day. It can save time when you are cooking other things on dinner night…

2 Responses to “Stephen: Day 37”

  1. Kelly March 5, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    yummy! I will make this for sure!!!

  2. Dad March 8, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    I love how artistically you live your life!

Leave a Reply

