Gretchen’s Life Day – 29

5 Mar

Today, I went to Sam’s Club. When I was in the parking lot loading my groceries into my car I noticed a woman in her late 80’s next to me trying to load all of her gigantic sized bags of dog food in the car. She was frail and probably weighed 90 lbs. I offered to help her load up her trunk. She said, “that would be so nice, I have nobody at home to help me…everyone I know is in the cemetery”. After loading her groceries I left crying. How sad. I wanted to follow her home and help her feed all of her pets, her only companions left in her life. How often we get irritated at people older than us. They tell too many stories about their life, drive to slowly, ect. ect. For a second today I got a glimpse into to how alone and isolated you can feel when you age when your family and friends have left you behind here on earth. I need to do more for the elderly in my community and I encourage you to do the same. Wouldn’t we want the same treatment when we are all wrinkly and wobbly? I’d love to hear your ideas on how to give to the elderly.

One Response to “Gretchen’s Life Day – 29”

  1. Dad March 8, 2010 at 7:37 pm #

    What a beautiful heart you have, Gretchen!

    I think a lot of old people feel they have wasted their lives. I read the Mitch Albom book and saw the film adapted from it, titled, “The Five People You Meet in Heaven.” The main character dies, feeling his life was wasted, only to find out that it wasn’t.

    I think old people like to be listened to, the way Kathy Bates listened to Jessica Tandy in “Fried Green Tomatoes.” They like to know that their story isn’t forgotten, that someone remembers it, if only a stranger.

    I remember reading a chapter called “Toenails” in a book, titled, “Letters to a Young Surgeon.” It talks about a doctor visiting an old person and bringing his clippers along with him and cutting the person’s toenails. It’s something that old people can’t do, and often they can’t afford to have it done. So I would vote for a pedicure, then washing and massaging the feet.

    Thanks for sharing your story, Gretchen. And for the tears you cried for that woman.

Leave a Reply

