Rachel – Day 35

11 Mar

The News: Prom Canceled Due To Student’s Orientation. Constance McMillen, an 18 year old female student in Itawamba School District in Mississippi wanted to wear a tuxedo and take her girlfriend to their senior prom. Because of the commotion this made in the school, the school board decided not to sponsor the senior prom resulting in cancelation altogether, rather than allowing the lesbian couple to attend the prom.

(http://www.google.com/hostednews/ap/article/ALeqM5iQRDDMNSipfZL1NVG-gK2OLZHJUwD9ECKKA00)

My Comments: Really? They’re going to cancel an entire senior prom because 2 girls are attending together and one wants to wear a tuxedo? They’re disappointing the rest of the senior class and taking away one of the most memorable nights in their high school career just because they’re uncomfortable? Wow! I’m appalled. If the Itawamba school district were to have sat in on my prom (of which I attended a very conservative christian private school), they would have cancelled it 5 times over. First of all, I attended my senior prom with my best friend Cory, a female. We went the whole 9 yards. We dressed up, we got each other corsages, she picked me up at my house, we took pictures together and everything. Sure, we’re not lesbians, but isn’t it the same idea – 2 girls going to prom together? My school had no problem with it whatsoever and I can say with a good amount of certainty that they would not have canceled prom if I were to have come in a tuxedo. In addition to that, we had several guys who showed up in silly polyester suits from the thrift store and everyone loved it, no condemnation or concern. Then we had the goth kids who portrayed a level of discomfort but no one cared enough to let it be anything, people got over it and had fun. I’m just so disappointed with the Mississippi school district to go to such extreme measures and ruin so many student’s senior year. Hopefully they will grow from this and change their minds, rather than be reinforced by their community on the decision to cancel. The prom was set for April 2nd, so there’s still time.

One Response to “Rachel – Day 35”

  1. Dad March 16, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    You are so right, Rachel.

    I have such fond memories of your relationship with Corey.

    I hope you will be friends all of your lives.

    Tell her hi for me the next time you talk with her. Also tell her how much I appreciated the note she sent me a year or so ago.

Leave a Reply

