Gretchen’s Life Day – 69

18 Apr

We were invited by a woman at work to go to her cousin’s wedding reception. We packed up all of the kids and entered the reception of 2 people we have never met let alone heard of. Our small family made up 99.9% of the Caucasian population at this event. Everyone else was Mexican. All the men wore cowboy hats and boots. The older gentlemen were lined up against the back wall like some kind of Spanish mafia. It was a bit intimidating. The Mexican music blared at levels that made my head pound. All in all it was an amazing experience. Everyone was so friendly. We were introduced to just about everyone. I tried out my broken Spanish on those that I met that didn’t speak any English. It was such a great feeling to be welcomed into a culture that we are so unfamiliar with. I hope we get invited to the next wedding! I better brush up on my Spanish!

Leave a Reply

