Stephen: Day 93, 94 and 95

9 May

Day 93:

Every sunset in Kole is like this… I love it…

Day 94:

It rained and rained and rained today. Everything cooled off and I finally had a day of no sweating!!! With the rain comes mixed feelings though. Because clouds mean no power in a lab that’s run almost entirely off of solar power… But I do say so myself: I’d trade a hot day full of flow cytometry for a cool rainy day in a heartbeat.

Day 95:

This is my favorite meal in Kole: rice, red beans and fried bananas, with a dash of tobasco. Half the time we get some strange meat for dinner, and it’s usually slightly rancid. The other half we have river fish, which are another thing entirely, and I must be honest and tell you that I will not eat Kole fish. Small bones, skin, fish heads, fish tails. They lose their novelty very quickly… Oh how I love Kole beans…

Leave a Reply

