Rachel – Day 105

3 Jun

The News: Pets Teach About Marriage. Dr. Suzanne Phillips, a clinical psychologists says we need to take spousal relationship queues from our relationships with our animals. Our animals are always excited to see us, quick to forgive and never manipulative. We also need to treat our spouses how we treat our pets. Think about it, when you come home from a bad day, you let it out on your spouse, not on your dog. You for some reason are still loving towards your pets because you know they have nothing to do with your bad day – why can’t we give our spouse’s the same benefit of the doubt? Even when our pets throw up, chew up the couch or pee in the house, we are easy to forgive, we don’t hold grudges and we know they are not doing things intentionally to make us upset.

(http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/06/02/what-pets-can-teach-us-about-marriage/?src=me&ref=general)

My Comments: I agree, we have so much to learn from our pets and even how we treat our pets. I have a 5-year-old Australian Shepherd dog named Kenya who can really piss me off sometimes, but right after she pisses me off, I’m totally over it. Sometimes I feel like she is more intentional than some dogs because she’s so freakin’ smart, but I still know she is for the most part, good intentioned. She does usually greet us with a smile and a wag as long as she’s not keeping herself in a hole somewhere because of a storm or something.  I do need to remind myself to take a deep breath and give Randy a hug when I get home from a frustrating day, just as I would love on Kenya, I need to love on Randy and recognize he is as far removed from my frustrations as Kenya is. There are endless things we can learn from animals and endless joys they give us. Thank you Lord for animals, for Kenya!

One Response to “Rachel – Day 105”

  1. Dad June 4, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Really great reflection, Rachel. I loved it.

    Day 105. Can you believe it? You all are almost a third of the way through the year!

Leave a Reply

