Rachel – Day 137

20 Jul

The News: E-Books Outnumber Sales Of Hardbacks. Yesterday Amazon announced that for the first time ever, the e-reader called, the Kindle outsold hardcover books for the last 3 months. Amazon went on to say that for every 100 hardcovers they sold, they would sell about 143 Kindles.

The e-reader industry saw a threat with the ipad because the ipad can be used to read books, however, sales are not reflecting the threat to be a true reality, at least not at the moment.

(http://www.nytimes.com/2010/07/20/technology/20kindle.html?bl)

My Comments: I suppose if I were to buy stock right now, I may consider buying it in e-readers. This sounds like an industry that will eventually, and very unfortunately obliterate books just as DVD’s did to VHS’.  I cannot see myself ever really jumping on this bandwagon because I love touching and smelling books. I love turning the pages myself and watching my progress as I read a book.  I’m hanging on for hope that books are not going to dwindle into nothingness. If you agree, buy a book instead of a Kindle.

Leave a Reply

