Rachel – Day 156

14 Sep

The News: 3,00o Mile Oil Change Is a Myth!!!!! So you get your oil changed every 3,000 miles or maybe every 3 months right? Most people try to stick to this rule in order to keep their car running well. Well, any car purchased in the last 8 years does not need an oil change this often and in most cases, neither to older models either. If you check your car manual, it will tell you the recommended oil change intervals so don’t trust your mechanic, trust your manual. Car maintenance shops have been making far too much money on an unneeded service and good oil is getting pitched into the environment when it’s not needed. So, save your oil and save your money until you actually need to change your car oil. In most cases, 7,500 miles is the interval for oil changes. And what happens if you don’t change your oil in time? Will your car sputter to a an overworked and overheated stop? No because your oil doesn’t actually run out, it just gets dirtier and dirtier the longer you wait to change, meaning your engine becomes dirtier, not dry and hot.

(http://www.nytimes.com/2010/09/11/your-money/11shortcuts.html?src=me&ref=general)

My Comments: I didn’t blog about this so you would never change your oil again, I definitely think we should all be smart about our cars and maintain them to the best of our abilities, however, it doesn’t sit well with me that I have been religious about my oil changes every 3,000 miles ever since I learned to drive when all along I could’ve been saving money, time and helping the environment. I don’t know about you, but I’m checking my owners manual!

One Response to “Rachel – Day 156”

  1. Mom September 17, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    I promise not to show this to Hugh!

Leave a Reply

